I Had a Dream…

Well, actually, I still have the dream.  It’s the awake-and-thinking-about-it-all-day kind of dream.  Not the kind where halfway through breakfast you realize you spent the nighttime hours married to an orange (okay, even my sleeping dreams aren’t that weird…).  My dream is to have a simple life.

It’s not that I want to avoid having so many friends that I have to choose which Christmas party to attend or that I don’t want to raise children – because I’m pretty sure that’ll be far from simple – but I believe that life, as hectic and difficult as it is sometimes, really should be simple.  Or at least simplified.

I want to get back to the basics.  Making my own clothes.  Growing my own garden.  Baking my own bread.  Using what I have for what I need; repurposing, multitasking, creating.

I realize that these things probably don’t sound simple to you.  They don’t to me, either (hence the name of the blog).  I mean, since when is baking bread simpler than going out and buying a loaf?  So, to clarify, I’m talking about three things:  being satisfied with what you have, limiting your possessions to those you truly need, and becoming self-sufficient.

I’ll be honest here:  I’m not going to succeed.  I don’t even have my own garden yet, let alone the means to become fully self-sufficient, and baking bread actually makes me a little nervous.  But I’ll try, and I’ll chronicle my adventures (and misadventures) of living simply with the hope of inspiring others to join me in the challenge.

4 responses

Leave a Reply

